“A picture is worth ten thousand words” (Fred Barnham, 1927)

My father was diagnosed four years ago with Alzheimer’s.  It was  going ok, until recently, the disease started to progress rapidly.  He no longer remembers names, knows which utensil to use when he eats, can’t produce a sentence, or call me by my name.  I know  my Dad is still with me and I needed to connect with him.

It was pictures, not words,  photos of his life with his family, that he found pleasure. He was the Star of the the photos, and for everyone else in the phots, it was a connection.

If you have a loved one or know  someone who has been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, you are most likely aware this can also be depressing for the person who has been diagnozed with this disease.   I discovered  with the photos, for a  brief  short time, my father was smiling, laughing, he doesn’t know the names of the people in the photos, without words,  he is able to connect himself with the them. For me, this is rewarding.  For every visit with my father is the first time for him, but for me it is a warm feeling I can go home with,using the photos and making the best out of our visit.

I don’t know how long this journey will be, I will blog new and creative ideas I use to keep connected with my father. Know that your not alone.

via “Remembrance of Things Present: Making Peace with Dementia” by Peter Maeck — Between the Beats

Leave a comment